Williams F1 Racing Team



The Williams F1 Team is a British motor racing outfit founded in 1977 by Sir Frank Williams and Sir Patrick Head. The team is based in Grove, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom as  an engine manufacturer and works team. There are other sections of the Williams works team such as Williams Advanced Engineering and Williams Hybrid Power that convert technology from F1 cars for use in road cars.



The Williams F1 team has partnered with number of engine manufacturers notably and successfully with Renault, winning five (5) of their constructors titles. The team has also partnered with the likes of Ferrari, McLaren and Benetton. The current F1 team is powered by Mercedes engines for the 2020 championship.



While the team first participated in F1 motorsport in 1977, their first race victory came in 1979 at the British GP. The outfit is one of the only four teams in F1 motorsport that reached 100th race victories alongside Ferrari, McLaren and Mercedes. The Williams team managed to win nine (9) constructors  and seven (7) drivers championships between 1980 and 1997.

On the team’s way to winning the Formula One world championships, they featured some of the most gifted drivers in motorsport. The drivers that braced their paddocks included Australian Alan Jones, Finnish Keke Rosberg, Britain’s  Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill and Jenson Button, France’s Alain Prost, Brazil’s Nelson Piquet and  Ayrton Senna, and Canada’s Jacques Villeneuve. Each of these drivers provided a different dimension of their qualities and winning championship mentality in motorsport.

The Williams F1 Team is being marshalled by Claire Williams as the team principal, deputised by Mike O’Driscoll and Sir Patrick discharges his duties as the technical director.


2020 Driver Lineup

George Russell

Nicholas Latifi



Williams F1 Team