Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team



The Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team  , based in Brackley, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom, is affectionately known as “The Silver Arrows” to its worldwide fanbase. The Mercedes team first participated in the Formula One series in 1954 and 1955 but did not compete as a constructor for a longer period from 1956 – 2009, but the outfit did return as an engine supplier in 1994. During the team’s first stint in Formula One, Juan Manuel Fangio won the  drivers championship titles for the two consecutive years.



Mercedes had in the past supplied engines to Sauber, McLaren, Brawn, Force India and currently supplies power units  (engines) to Racing Point and Williams teams, all  past and current F1 participants. The Mercedes team returned to Formula One in 2010 after buying stakes in Brawn GP and securing sponsorship with Malaysian oil giant Petronas. In the previous year, Jenson Button had won his maiden drivers championship with Brawn GP, which took everyone by surprise. The Mercedes team was rebranded as Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team and retained Ross Brawn as the team principal.



The team’s driver line up featured the seven time Formula One world champion Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg for the 2010 championship. The pair continued together until 2013, with little race victories, when Lewis Hamilton replaced Schumacher who retired from the sport.

The works team is currently ranked second with more than 180 Formula One race  wins, seven constructors championship and eleven drivers championships all achieved  with mercedes-benz engines. The team has also surpassed McLaren in terms of one-two race finishes, recording twelve in 2015.

The Mercedes AMG F1 Team has become one of the most successful team in the history of motorsport in the hybrid era, having achieved six consecutive Drivers and Constructors Championship between 2014 to 2019. Hamilton has won five and Rosberg won one of these and the latter eventually retired from the sport at the end of the 2016 season after being crowned champion.



The Mercedes Benz currently runs an autosport engineering company, the Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains (MHPP) centre at Brixworth, Northamptonshire, which was acquired in 1994 as a technology centre. The Brackley based F1 Team has Toto Wolff as the team principal & CEO, Andy Cowell is the principal for Powertrains and James Allison is the teams technical director.


2020 Drivers Line up

Lewis Hamilton

Valtteri Bottas



Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team