McLaren F1 Team



The McLaren F1 Team is headquartered in Woking, Surrey, United Kingdom. It is one of the oldest teams in F1 history having entered the motoring sport in 1966 and competed in every season ever since. McLaren was founded by a New Zealander by the name Bruce McLaren who was also a racing driver.



The team featured a host of talented drivers who went on to win world championships. The McLaren F1 Team first won it’s world championship in 1974, thanks to Emerson Fittipaldi, and a second came in 1976 courtesy of James Hunt. The takeover by Ron Dennis in the early 1980s saw its resurgence and boosting title winning drivers such as Alain Prost, Niki Lauda and Ayrton Senna. The team was then using engines supplied by Honda but after splitting with the manufacturer Mercedes took over as the engine supplier in the late 1990s.

In 1998 and 1999 Mika Hakkinen scooped the driver’s championship to add to the teams impressive trophy cabinet. The years that followed by were quieter for the Woking based team until the arrival of rookie driver in 2007 in the form of Lewis Hamilton who went on to win the 2008 drivers championship.



The partnership with Mercedes ended in 2014 and Honda rekindled the once formidable partnership once again as engine supplier to the McLaren F1 Team but this only lasted up to 2017. Renault briefly supplied McLaren with engines from 2018 to 2020 and a partnership with Mercedes is agreed to start in 2021. Zak Brown remains the team principal and pins the teams hope on the introduction of Daniel Ricciardo for the 2021 F1 season.


2020 Driver lineup

Lando Norris

Carlos Sainz



Mclaren F1 Team