Circuit of the Americas – AUSTIN

Circuit of the Americas – AUSTIN



The Circuit of the Americas (COTA) is located in Austin, Texas and is the home to Formula One United States Grand Prix (USGP). The circuit was designed in 2010 by the German architect Hermann Tilke and promoted by  Tavo Hellmund and 1993 motorcycle World Champion Kevin Schwantz. The COTA, rated Grade 1 by the FIA, hosted its first Formula One race event in November 2012.

On the other hand, the USGP was first inaugurated in 1959 and had featured circuits like Sebring, Riverside, Watkins Glen, Long Beach, Detroit, Las Vegas, Dallas, Phoenix and Indianapolis. The USGP has been won by legendary drivers from Bruce Mclaren, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton, all victorious at the different circuits mentioned above.



Circuit of the Americas – Pitlane view – USGP

COTA is one of the first circuits in the United States of America to be purpose-built for Formula One race events.  The race circuit is one of the few circuits that are run counter clockwise, these being Yas Marina, Marina Bay and Interlagos therefore the circuits have more left-hand corners than right-hand ones.



The race circuit features a 77m observation tower designed as a landmark for the venue. The observation platform, which is accessible to the public at a fee, provides a 70 magl panorama view of the circuit and nearby Austin City. Other notable features include the Germania Insurance Amphitheatre which can accommodate up to 14 000 people, the Main Grandstand with a capacity of 9000 spectators and the Bold Stadium, home of Astin Bold FC soccer team.



Circuit of the Americas – USGP

The Circuit of the Americas is 5.513 km long and is characterized by twenty (20) corners and a few straights. Other than hosting F1 race events, COTA is home to important events sanctioned by FIA such as MotoGP World Championship, FIA World Endurance Championship, FIA Rally Cross Championship, American Le Mans Series and others.

Lewis Hamilton has the most race wins at Circuit of the Americas, having gathered four (4) victories and all of these added up to his title winning campaigns.



Circuit of the Americas